Department of Civil Engineering


The E O E Pereira Memorial Award for the best paper -(IESL) 2011


Dr. A.P.N. Somaratna


The E O E Pereira Memorial Award for the best paper presented at the annual sessions of Institute of Engineers, Sri Lanka, (IESL) 2011, for the paper titled ‘Numerical Simulation of Alkali-Aggregate Reaction in Concrete using a General Purpose Finite Element Package’ authored by C.K.Pathirana, A.P.N. Somaratna and H. Abeyruwan

NSF Research Award – 2017

Prof. J. J. Wijetunge of the Department of Civil Engineering has won the National Science Foundation (NSF) Research Award – 2017 under the category of Engineering Sciences, Architecture and ICT for his research work on numerical modelling and mapping of coastal impact of storm surges in Sri Lanka. He will be awarded a plaque, a certificate and a cash prize at the Awards Ceremony to be held on the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the National Science Foundation this year (2018).

Prestigious Engineering Award for the Faculty of Engineering

On 20 July 2017, the project “Mitigation of Pollution at Kandy Lake and Mid-Canal, Sri Lanka” has been awarded the Prestigious Engineering Achievement Award (PEAA) by the Institute of Engineers, Singapore (IES). The project was a collaboration between UOP’s Faculty of Engineering and the Nanyang Environment and Water Research Institute (NEWRI, Singapore). Dr Shameen Jinadasa, Senior Lecturer at the Department of Civil Engineering was the project’s Principal Investigator.

Show More

University of Peradeniya - CVCD Excellence Awards
Show More

Presidential Research Bonus

Dr. Shameen Jinadasa

Dr. Nadeeshani Nanayakkara

Prof. J.J. Wijetunge

NRC Merit Award for Scientific Publication

Prof. Ranjith Dissanayake

Dr. (Mrs.) H.K. Nandalal

Prof. J.J. Wijetunge

IESL Best Technical Paper

SD&CC Award to Prof. K. P. P. Pathirana

Manamperi Award 2014

Manamperi Award selected project, 2014 The undergraduate engineering project on "Finite Element Simulation of Potential AAR in Victoria Dam" carried out by Mr. C.T. Nung, Mr. D.S.P.M.T. Pathirana and Mr. G.S. Edirisinghe under the supervision of Dr. A.P.N. Somaratne

Department of Civil Engineering