Home>The Staff
The Staff

Dr.Vijitha Rohana Herath

Senior Lecturer

Office Address: 

Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering.
University of Peradeniya.
Sri lanka.

vijitha@ee.pdn.ac.lk, vrherath@gmail.com
Personal Website: 

Boigraphy :

  • H.M. Vijitha R. Herath received the BScEng degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering (1st class honors) from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, in 1998, MS degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Miami, USA, in 2002 and Dr.-Ing. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Paderborn, Germany, in 2009.

    He was a research assistant at the University of Miami (2000-2002) and German academic exchange service (DAAD) doctoral scholar at the University of Paderborn (2004-2009). Since June 2009 he has been a senior lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. His current research interests includes nonlinear effects in the optical fiber transmission, higher order modulation formats in the optical fiber transmission, and algorithm development for the coherent QAM transmission systems.

    Dr. Herath is the founder chair of IEEE MTT-S Sri Lanka chapter. He is a member of OSA, IEEE MTT-S, and IEEE SSSC.


Educational Qualifications :

  • PhD :Electrical Engineering, University of Paderborn,Germany  (October 2004 – March 2009)
  • MSc : Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Miami, USA  (January 2000 – May 2002)
  • BSc : Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka  (February 1994 – August 1998)

Administrative Positions :

  • Faculty co-coordinator, International Research Center, University of Peradeniya

Members & Awards :

  • - General Chair, ICIIS 2013
  • - Chair, IEEE Sri Lanka Central Region Subsection (2013)
  • - Chair, IEEE  MTT-S Sri Lanka Chapter (2010-2012)
  • - Finance Chair, ICIIS 2011
  • - Member IEEE (MTT society member)
  • - Graduate Member OSA
  • - Publicity chair and technical program co-chair, ICIIS 2009
  • - Local organizing committee member, WCON 2010
  • - Vice-chair, IEEE Sri Lanka section (2010-11)

Awards :

  • DAAD doctoral scholarship.
  • Award of Academic Merit, University of Miami, USA.
  • R.H.Paul Prize for the best performance in subjects which include Electrical Power, Control and Electrical Machines, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka.

Research Intersests :

  • Coherent Optical Transmission: Algorithm development, Linear and nonlinear phase noise compensation , Performance evaluation ,Modulation formats and demodulation
  • Optical burst switching: Algorithm development, Performance evaluation
  • High speed analog ICs: Topology development, Design, synthesis, packaging, and testing , Optical receivers.
  • Nanoelectronics